skip navigation
Home Teams Calendar News Photos Documents Links Board Sponsors Contact


" The five S's of sports training are; stamina, speed, strength, skill and spirit; but the greatest of theses is spirit".

Welcome to the Home of the Fort William Hurricanes Hockey Club

The Fort William Hurricanes Hockey Club would like to take this opportunity to welcome you to our web site.

The Fort William Hurricanes Hockey Club has been around the Thunder Bay area for seventy nine years (incorporated in 1936). We have three clubs in our organization. From  Midget "AA",  Midget "A" and Bantam "A". We would like to welcome all to our Webste, and hope you enjoy. We will updating information every day. The Fort William Hurricanes have been given their clubs with Thunder Bay Minor Hockey Assocation for the 2017-2018 upcoming hockey season. At this time we like to welcome all returning players and parents for the 2017-18 hockey season, good luck to all teams.

Come out to the rink and support your favorite Hurricane's club...


The Fort William Hurricanes Hockey Club are pleased to announce that they have been awarded three clubs for the 2017-2018 Thunder Bay Minor Hockey Season.
 We will be retaining our Midget AA and Midget A teams with the addition of a Bantam A team. 
The Hurricanes Organization will be accepting coaching applications for all three teams, more information will be coming shortly after their Annual General Meeting on Thursday April 20th, 7:00 pm, DaVinci Centre, everyone welcome to attend.


The Fort William Hurricanes Hockey Club are pleased to announce that the search for coaches for the 2017-2018 season is over, and now the three teams are ready for the up in coming Thunder Bay Minor Hockey season.

The Bantam A staff will be manned by the following;

Head Coach;  Joe Berube

Asst, Coach;  Blair Wihlidal

Trainer;         Anthony Kotarac

Manager;      Cheryl Wihlidal
The Midget A Staff is as follows;

Head Coach;  Tyler Cooper

Asst. Coach;   Justin Joyce                            Adam Joyce

Asst. Coach;  James Cole                             Ryan Fieldhouse

Asst. Coach;  Jon Ciosek

Trainer;         Reginald Defeo

Manager;      Nick Cavezza  
Midget AA Staff

Head Coach;   Mark Antenucci

Asst. Coach;   John Falvo

Asst. Coach;   Rick Sarrinen


The Fort William Hurricanes Hockey Club handed out their annual awards at the KC Hall Thursday evening, both teams had fairly decent seasons in the Thunder Bay Minor Hockey League.
 The Midget A's with a very young team would just finish (9th) not making the eight qualifying playoff spots, a young team that when they skated could and did compete with the top end Midget A teams.
 The Midget AA's completed a very up and down campaign this past year, battling from a very rough start to fight tooth and nail and reaching the third seed in a very competitive Midget AA Division. They would go on to reach the Championship Finals bowing out in four games.
 Along the way they would capture two tournament titles (HNO's Tournament of Champions, Eden Prairie).
 The Fort William Hurricanes Hockey Club would like to take this time to congratulate the winners, both our teams, coaches and parents on a very successful 2016-2017 hockey season.

The Midget A staff proudly presented this years player awards.

The Esso Awards;

Most Sportsmanlike Player;             #18  Garrett Sheparski
Most Improved Player;                    #  6  Duyane Sugarhead
Most Dedicated Player;                   #  8  Jordan Meservia

The Hurricanes Awards

Rookie of the Year;                        #1  Jaydan Delaqua
Presidents Award                         #10 Tyler Quisses
HHH Award                                  #14 Brysen Bottoset

Thunder Bay Minor Hockey Awards

Most Improved Player                 #10  Tyler Quisses
     The Midget AA staff proudly presented this years player awards.

The Esso Awards

Most Sportsmanlike Player;         #16  Zachary Francis
Most Improved Player;                #21  Jonathan Friesen
Most Dedicated Player;               #  1  Tyler Blazino 

The Hurricanes Awards;

Rookie of the Year;                    #4  Kyle Swerhun
Presidents Award;                     #16 Zachary Francis
HHH Award;                              #14 Richard Crupi

Thunder Minor Hockey Awards;

Rookie of the Year;                   #4  Kyle Swerhun
Most Sportsmanlike Player;     #16  Zachary Francis

The Brian Dell Memorial Bursary Award

# 31  Tanner Klein.

All the awards presented are unfortunately individual and every player does not receive the full recognition that is deserved, but the award winners, team mates, coaches and parents fully realize that individual accomplishments could not be achieved without a complete team effort, so they all should be honoured on what was done to attain the team goals.


Zach Francis Midget AA Hurricanes with Ron McLean.