skip navigation
Home Teams Calendar News Photos Documents Links Board Sponsors Contact



    Welcome to the Home of the Fort William Hurricanes Hockey Club

    The Fort William Hurricanes Hockey Club would like to take this opportunity to welcome you to our web site.

    The Fort William Hurricanes Hockey Club has been around the Thunder Bay area for seventy nine years (incorporated in 1936). We have three clubs in our organization. From  Midget "AA",  Midget "A" and Bantam "A". We would like to welcome all to our Webste, and hope you enjoy. We will updating information every day. The Fort William Hurricanes have been given their clubs with Thunder Bay Minor Hockey Assocation for the 2018-2019 upcoming hockey season. At this time we like to welcome all returning players and parents for the 2018-19 hockey season, good luck to all teams.

    Come out to the rink and support your favorite Hurricane's club...


    After a very tough loss to the Current River Comets ( 6-2 ) the Fort William Hurricane Midget AA team came storming back with two straight shut out wins, Jesse Appel would score a natural hat trick and Stephan Bourgeois would make twenty five saves for his third shutout of the year, as the Herks would blank the AAA Bantam Kings 3-0.
      Brysen Bottoset would have a four point game, by scoring three an adding one assist, and Jaydan Delaqua made 19 saves for his second shutout. With the two wins the Herks now have taken over first place in the Midget AA standings by one point.
     After a scoreless opening fifteen minutes and the Herks outshooting the AAA's 11-5, Appel would take the scoring over by tallying three times.
     With just under six minutes left in the second, Appel fifth of the year would give the Canes a 1-0 after two periods, and Bourgeois would have made 12 saves.
     The Bantam Kings would see their offence kick in as they would fire 13 shots at the Herks net but Bourgeois would stand his ground and not allow one past him, while Appel  his second and third goals of the game two minutes apart giving the Midgets a 3-0 win, they would be his sixth and seventh of the season. Mason Hachey would chip in with two assists.
      The Hurricanes would next play on Monday evening against the Volunteer Pool Bearcats and would bring their offensive game. By scoring a 8-0 win. Bottoset would score three, Mason Hachey with two and one assist, while Appel would score once and chip in with two helpers. Delaqua was solid on the nineteen shots he faced.


    Leif DeDura would score at the 6:22 mark of the first period, and goaltender Johnny Gammond would turn aside 23 shots for his second shut out the year, as the Fort William Hurricane Midget A's would edge out the Current River Comets 1-0.
     Dedura would net his second of the year scoring at the 6:22 mark of the opening frame giving the Herks a 1-0 lead and Gammond would stop eight Comet shots, while in the Current River net Cameron Taylor would stop nine.
     The second and third periods were scoreless with both goaltenders stealing the show, frustrating the offensive players on both teams. Gammond had stopped fifteen shots, while the busier tender on the other end Taylor made twenty two saves.
     The Midget A's will have one more game before the Christmas break as the Nipigon Elks will be in town, for a game starting at 7:30 pm, Fort William First Nations.
                                                SCORING SUMMARY
    DeDura 2 ( M.Zawadzki ) 6:22.
    penalties; Comets; Bedour,holding, 0:29.
    2ND PERIOD;  no scoring;
    penalties; HERKS;  Walker, xcheck, 10:04. Hughes, holding, 8:43. Dedura, boarding, 3:22. 
    3RD PERIOD; no scoring;
    HERKS; Dunning, int. 8:05. B.Maslack, head check, 0:28. Comets;  Bedour, double minor, head check, 14:50. Graham, 4:36. Kovacs, high stick, 1:50.
                                             SHOTS ON GOAL
                         1ST       2ND       3RD       FINAL
    HERKS             9            8          14            31
    Comets           8             8           7             23

    Rydholm's Two Goals Helps Herks End Slump

    The Fort William Hurricane's Bantam A team's three game losing streak was stopped with the aid of Cameron Rydholm's two goal performance, pacing the Herks to a 4-2 win over the Neebing Hawks. Jackson Lawrence had a one goal and assist, while Matias Maenpaa-Berube had a pair of assists for the Canes, meanwhile Tyler Garatti had two goals for the Hawks.
     Neebing would open the scoring at the 9:46 mark of the first period with Garatti netting his first of two. The Hawks would have a 8-5 shot advantage.
     Rydholm's first of two would tie the game at 1-1 giving him two goals on the season, exactly two minutes later Dusty Paradis would give the Hurricanes a 2-1 lead. Garatti's second goal of the game would knot the score at 2-2, and that would be how the score ended after two, a 2-2 deadlock. Shots were in Neebings favour again 8-6.
     The third frame would belong to the Hurricanes scoring early and late in the period. Rydholm's second of the game and third on the year at the 13:13 mark would give the Cane's a 3-2 lead, and with 1:29 Lawrence would seal the win for the Herks scoring a power play goal into the empty net and the Canes would have a 4-2 win.
     The Bantams were off to Dryden for a tournament, so their next regular season game is scheduled for Wednesday December 19th, 7:30 pm, versus the West End Bruins, Current River Arena.
                                                SCORING SUMMARY
    1ST PERIOD;  
    Hawks Garatti ( Adduono ) 9:46.
    penalties; HERKS; Grenier, tripping, 0:19. Hawks; Cwiklik, int. 13:45. Cwiklik, xcheck, 3:18.
    2ND PERIOD;  HERKS; Rydholm 2 ( Plater ) 8:56. Paradis 2 ( Wihlidal ) 6:56. Hawks; Garatti ( Graver, Hemeon ) 6:28.
    penalties; HERKS; Plater, hooking, 3:01. Hawks; St.Jean, roughing, 13:52.
    3RD PERIOD;  HERKS; Rydholm 3 ( Maenpaa-Berube, Lawrence ) 13:13. Lawrence 8 ( Maenpaa-Berube ) pp. empty net, 1:29.
    penalties; HERKS; Maenpaa-Berube, holding, 7:48. Grenier, boarding, 6:34. Hawks; Cwiklik, high stick, 7:48. Garatti, double minor, head check, 2:57.
                                                SHOTS ON GOAL
                          1ST       2ND       3RD       FINAL
    HERKS              5           6           13          24
    Hawks              8           8             8          24


    The Fort William Hurricanes three Thunder Bay Minor Hockey teams returned to the win column, with the Bantam A's scoring a 4-2 win over the Neebing Hawks, Cameron Rydholm would lead the Cane attack with two goals. Meanwhile both Herk's midget teams would post shutout wins, the Midget A's were backstopped by Johnny Gammond's 23 stops and Leif DeDura would score the only goal the Hurricanes would need edging the Current River Comets 1-0. Jesse Appel would score the natural hat trick and Stephan Bourgeois would would have a 25 shot save performance in posting a 3-0 win over the Bantam AAA Kings.


    Matias Maenpaa-Berube accepting the Dan Rusnak Bursary

    Zach Francis Midget AA Hurricanes with Ron McLean.