skip navigation
Home Teams Calendar News Photos Documents Links Board Sponsors Contact


to the new home of the Fort William Hurricanes


Club Events


Herks_logo3_smallHere are the luck winners of the 2009 Fort Willaim Hurricanes Raffle Draw held December 19,2009 at the Power Centre. Raffle Licence #Mg627917

1st Prize 50 " Plazma TV                                     Ticket #1107
Craig Wakefield

2nd Prize A Sony Digital Movie Camera          Ticket #0542
Courtney Kelly

3rd Prize An Eagle Cuba Fish Finder &            Ticket #0115
                  A Garmin GPS 

On behalf of the Fort William Hurricanes Hockey Club we would like to thank the winners and all those who purchased tickets, the sellers and the players. Also to the Power Centre for supplying all the prizes.

St.Jean Awarded the Brian Dell Memorial Award

The Midget AA Hurricanes, Captain and team scoring leader Steven St Jean was Awarded The Brian Dell Memorial Scholarship Award at the Annual Awards Banquet held last April. Not only did Steven lead his team on the ice but carried that leadership off the ice. He has graduated High School and now will be going to Lakehead University. The Fort William Hurricanes Organization wish the very best for Steven in his future schooling and would like to thank him for two years of dedicated service to the Midget AA program, again Good Luck Steven..

Matthew Iazzolino was the Midget AA winner of the Hard Hurricanes Hockey Award (HHH) while Kevin Melenchuk was the winner of the Fort William Hurricanes Presidents Award and the Kuokkanen Family was given the Fundraising Award. The Thunder Bay Minor Hockey Trophy for the League's Most Sportsmanlike Player went to Herk Aaron Bellinger. The Esso Medals were also presented and Most Dedicated Player was given to Alex Porter, Brian Gilbert was team Most Improved Player, while Mitchell Steadwell was awarded with the Most Sportsmanlike Medal.


Herks_logo3_smallThis Saturday February 5th will be the Fort William Hurricanes 75th Anniversary day, with a whole day of hockey and fellowship planned.
 Beginning at 11:00 am the Fort William Hurricanes Bantam A team will take on the Volunteer Pool Bearcats, this will be followed by the Midget A Herks facing off at 1:00 pm, with the Fort William Canadiens, and the final contest of the afternoon will also feature  two arch rivals at 3:00 pm, as the Canes and the Habs will renew old times in Midget AA action, all games will count for regular season points. All games will be played at the Fort William Gardens.
 Following the action on the ice will be a Wine & Cheese, Meet and Greet Social, this is being held at the DaVinci Centre, starting at 7:00 pm. There will snacks and a cold cut menu for all, it is a free event for all interested hockey and non hockey people alike. There will also be cash bar, come one come all. Meet some old friends and share a story or two.
 With the games being held at the Fort William Gardens and this is also a special occasssion for them, as along with it being the Hurricanes 75th Anniversary, the old barn turns 60 years young.
 Going back the 60 years you will find that the first event the Gardens hosted was a hockey game between, you guessed it the Fort William Canadiens vs the Fort William Hurricanes, with the Habs defeating the Canes 5-3.
 Lots of time, events and history have passed between both the Hurricanes and the Gardens, with many more to come we hope. Please enjoy the day.


The Fort William Hurricanes Hockey Club held it's Annual Awards Banquet this past April at the Fort William Columbus Centre. Lots of prizes  Awards, and a great meal, made for an entertaining evening.
 This year was a sucessfull one for our Bantam A's as not only did they come in first place in the Thunder Bay Minor Hockey League, they also captured the Championship Playoff Trophy. Ryan Fieldhouse was voted the best defenseman in the Thunder Bay Minor Hockey Bantan A Division.
 The Bantam B Award winners were; The ESSO AWARDS; Most Sportsmanlike Player Justin Dafoe. Most Improved Player, Sebastian Towegismig. Most Dedicated Player, Spencer Godfrey. The Fort William Hurricanes Awards; Team Fundraiser Award; Salvatore Daniele Family. The Hard Hurricane Hockey Award (HHH); Jarmo Kuokkanen. The Presidents Award; Braydon White.
The Bantam A Award winners were; THE ESSO AWARDS;Most Sportsmanlike Player Alex Pederson. Most Improved Player; Karson Scavarelli. Most Dedicated Player, Troy Robinson. The Fort William Hurricanes Awards; Team Fundraiser; The Sandberg Family. The Hard Hurricane Hockey Award (HHH); Ryan Fieldhouse. The Presidents Award; Lucas Sandberg.
The Midget AA Award Winners were; THE ESSO AWARDS; Most Sportsmanlike Player; Sammuel Frisby. Most Improved Player;Hayden Hickey. Most Dedicated Player; Johnny Parrott. The Fort William Hurricanes Awards; Team Fundraiser; The Krzystofczyk Family. The Hard Hurricane Hockey Award (HHH);  Kenny Turner. The Presidents Award; Kevin Kurm.
The Brian Dell Memorial Award; Andrew Crupi.
A huge congradulations to all the Award winners, to all the players who were a huge part of the Fort William Hurricanes Hockey Club this past season you were also winners, to the parents a big thankyou. We would like to wish the very best to all  the graduating players, hope you enjoyed your season(s) with the Herks, to all the returning players we hope to see you all in a Hurricane Jersey next fall. A big thankyou has to go out to Maureen Zanatta for putting on a super banquet ajob well done as usuall. And finally thanks to all our coaching staffs a very sucessfull season whether we won or lost, lots of lessons learned.

2011-2012 Thunder Bay Minor Bantam "A" Champions Fort William Hurricanes

2011-2012 Thunder Bay Minor Bantam "A" Champions Fort William Hurricanes